# Day 49 (The Spell-check trap)

Yesterday while searching for an old poem on the crazy English spellings i came across this little gem. When computers became ‘smart’ enough to run a spelling and grammar check on our word documents, one couldn’t help but be amazed by the brilliance of it. But soon to your consternation you discovered that while there were no spelling errors, the word used was not exactly the one that conveyed what you had wanted to say! And then came smartphones and their predictive text features, and the auto-correct goof ups became side-splitting comedy. Ideally this clever feature should provide both speed and mechanical efficiency but if you don’t read over what you have typed, it transmits misinformation that you can keep apologising for! No wonder you have a whole ‘Damn-you-auto-correct’ movement out there!!
Exaggerations aside, this could well happen to any of us…

Eye Halve a Spelling Chequer

Eye halve a spelling chequer

It came with my pea sea

It plainly marques four my revue

Miss steaks eye kin knot sea.
Eye strike a quay and type a word

And weight four it two say

Weather eye am wrong oar write

It shows me strait a weigh.
As soon as a mist ache is maid

It nose bee fore two long

And eye can put the error rite

Its really ever wrong.
Eye have run this poem threw it

I am shore your pleased two no

Its letter perfect in it’s weigh

My chequer tolled me sew.

(Sauce unknown)
(Given below is the corrected version:))

I have a Spelling Checker

I have a spelling checker

It came with my PC

It plainly marks for my review

Mistakes I cannot see.
I strike a key and type a word

And wait for it to say

Whether I am wrong or right

It shows me straight away.
As soon as a mistake is made

It knows before too long

And I can put the error right

It’s rarely ever wrong.
I have run this poem through it

I am sure you’re pleased to know

It’s letter perfect in its way

My checker told me so.

(Source unknown)

About sunsur81

A gatherer of thoughts...exploring myths,metaphors and expressions of life...
This entry was posted in 365 Days Blog-roll, In Lighter Vein, Wizardry of Words and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

