# Day 107 (Little Stones at my window…)

When i was teaching English to High School students, every once in a while some student would come up with the question of ‘why do we need to study poetry?’ or even ‘how on earth is poetry ever going to help me in life?’ And my answer always was because ‘it’s the language of life, an insight that can help you see life-experiences in an entirely new way, words that can help you understand the unexplainable things in life.’ Too often our schools are places of too much emphasis on “brain only” learning with little or no attention to “emotional” learning. This is where teaching literature helps for it enables you to talk about life issues which otherwise one would never touch upon. 

Jeanette Winterson, a poet and writer, sums it up beautifully thus:

“…When people say that poetry is a luxury, or an option, or for the educated middle classes, or that it shouldn’t be read in school because it is irrelevant, or any of the strange and stupid things that are said about poetry and its place in our lives, I suspect that the people doing the saying have had things pretty easy. A tough life needs a tough language – and that is what poetry is. That is what literature offers — a language powerful enough to say how it is. It isn’t a hiding place. It is a finding place.” 

And so it was always a constant endeavour with me to bring some poetry into the lives of these teenagers. For this one needed to encourage them to not just read prescribed texts but look for poems that strike a chord with some deeper part of one’s subconscious. Once in a while this reaped unexpected rewards like the time a student brought for me a translation of her mother’s favourite poet Mario Benedetti. Till then, i must confess, i had not heard of this towering Uruguayan literary genius. Later i did look for more poems but finding English translations of his Spanish works is not easy. For today i share that little treasure…

Little Stones at my Window

~ Mario Beneditti

Once in a while

joy throws little stones at my window

it wants to let me know that it’s waiting for me

but today I’m calm

I’d almost say even-tempered

I’m going to keep anxiety locked up

and then lie flat on my back

which is an elegant and comfortable position

for receiving and believing news


who knows where I’ll be next

or when my story will be taken into account

who knows what advice I still might come up with

and what easy way out I’ll take not to follow it
don’t worry, I won’t gamble with an eviction

I won’t tattoo remembering with forgetting

there are many things left to say and suppress

and many grapes left to fill our mouths
don’t worry, I’m convinced

joy doesn’t need to throw any more little stones

I’m coming

I’m coming. 

About sunsur81

A gatherer of thoughts...exploring myths,metaphors and expressions of life...
This entry was posted in 365 Days Blog-roll, Thought snippets, Wizardry of Words. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

