# Day 116 (Take me to the Moon…)

IMG_0766

In my mailbox this morning i find an email that says…

“Today’s @postaday prompt is Take Me to the Moon” which further expands to “How far would you go for someone you love? How far would you want someone else to go for you?”

Like staccato bursts, a round of thoughts race through my mind…why have I suddenly come on this mailing list, ~a prompt? as in they’ll send me one everyday, ~isn’t this line from an old song?, ~kind of stock platitudes teenagers-in-love would indulge in, ~ one of those Bollywood songs ‘chalo dildaar chalo chaand ke paar chalo..’ (loose translation…come sweetheart let’s take a trip to the moon and beyond…’), ~aww come on in the real world who talks like this~~~
Then you pause and just let those ideas take more coherent forms somewhere at the back of your conscious mind…
The song, i remembered, was an old Frank Sinatra number that got associated with the Apollo-missions. It sort of became the theme song of America’s Space-Age after Buzz Aldrin played it on his cassette player upon stepping on the moon and thereby made it the “first music ever heard on the moon”
“Fly me to the moon
Let me play among the stars
Let me see what Spring is like
On a Jupiter and Mars
…Fill my heart with song
And let me sing forevermore
You are all I long for
All I worship and adore
In other words, please be true
In other words, I love you…”
The sentiments expressed are extremely romantic, though to me they seem a tad hackneyed and somewhat escapist, even metaphorically speaking. Instead of hankering for the ‘stars and the moon’ why don’t we work towards making this world itself a romantic heaven. Which brings me to the ‘prompt’ questions and some doubts of my own. Can you really quantify the extent to which you would be willing to go for that significant someone or even vice versa since any meaningful relationship has to be a two way street. Perhaps not.
These are actually questions pertaining to the ‘here and now’ for who knows what the future holds. ‘Take me to the moon’ is then just another way of saying that on a daily basis one will do whatever it takes to make the relationship a wonderful continuous flow…and that effort like any other matter of the heart can never be quantified. Remember that old short story by O.Henry, ‘The Gift of the Magi’, about a young married couple and how they deal with the challenge of secretly buying a Christmas gift for the other with the limited money they have. The selfless action of each for their loved one defines what ‘take me to the moon’ in a relationship is all about. And when you are in such a relationship who wants to say, ‘Take Me to the Moon’…all one says then is ‘The Moon is here with us!!’

About sunsur81

A gatherer of thoughts...exploring myths,metaphors and expressions of life...
This entry was posted in 365 Days Blog-roll, Thought snippets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

